The profile page is where you share your images with the world. Any images or albums with their privacy set to public will be shown here. From here you can also view who the user is following, as well as who is following them.
If you do not wish to share your images, or to participate in the social orientated following feature no problem. Just go to your account settings and update your privacy and following options.